Judging Ginrin B koi - this article by Kevin Harrison explains the criteria for judging Ginrin B koi.


Ginrin B classification is large and it is therefore difficult to pick a show winner because your particular koi may well be competing against another variety, but is placed in the same judging category because of its Ginrin scalation.

Definition of Ginrin B

Perhaps the best way to define the Ginrin B category is to eliminate some of the categories that may cause some confusion when selecting your Ginrin B koi for a show.

Ginrin B excludes all Ginrin A varieties i.e. Ginrin Kohaku, Ginrin Sanke, Ginrin Showa and Ginrin Utsuri. In essence all gosanke are not included.

All metallic ginrin varieties are also excluded from this class e.g. Ginrin Ogon.

So now that we have eliminated so much, what is there to select from?

Any koi that is non-metallic and that is not classified as gosanke may be considered. They should have three or more rows of ginrin (shiny scales) to qualify for this category. A doitsu or leather koi, obviously would not fall into this category, only scaled koi would qualify.

Ginrin B classification includes all of the ginrin scalation, namely:


The Scales have a high reflection because the whole surface sparkles


Also known as diamond-ginrin becasue these scales sparkle like diamonds with streaks of highly reflective tissue radiating from its centre


These scales have very narrow streaks of glitter at the very edge of the scale


Also known as pearl-ginrin which has a central patch that is slightly raised and gives the appearance of being covered with tiny pearls


This classification evens the playing fields quite drastically as it allows "lesser" so called varieties to compete. For instance a Ginrin Goshiki may be candy for one's eyes, only to find that a saragoi that has better ginrin and will take honours on the day. The Ginrin Goshiki for instance may well have a ten times higher price tag, but the judging priority remains with ginrin scalation and of course body shape. Thus the "lesser" varieties have a good chance of competing.

Some of the koi that fall into the Ginrin B variety include:

  • Ginrin Saragoi (Grey koi with shiny scales)
  • Ginrin Chagoi (Brown or Olive Green)
  • Ginrin Ochiba Shiguru (Grey and Brown)
  • Ginrin Asagi (Blue-grey base colour with a netting like pattern and orange or red belly)
  • Ginrin Bekko (White koi with Black pattern - no sumi on head)
  • Ginrin Goshiki (Five coloured Koi)
  • Ginrin Matsukawabaki (scaled Kumonryu - black white and grey)
  • Ginrin Benigoi (Red or deep Orange)
  • Ginrin Goromo (A white koi with red pattern - robbing on the pattern)
  • Ginrin Matsuba (Yellow, Orange or White)

Note that the above-mentioned varieties all have ginrin scales which qualifies them for the Ginrin B category.

See some of the pictures that illustrate typical Ginrin B koi